Publocation

Publocation

We'll tell you where to go for every Australian pub.

Publocation in other countries:

Australia
Search

Beer reviews

Here's To Beers with Bob AnthonyBob Anthony, columnist and home brewer

I'm a beer columnist and home brewer. Here I cover everything to do with one of the most popular and discussed beverages in the world.

Cheers! Bob

XXXX Gold Pale Ale

Wed, 2015-11-25 19:41 -- bob
XXXX Gold Pale Ale

IT seems just about everyone is into making a pale ale these days – big brewers, little brewers, home brewers – who isn't making the stuff? Now while I enjoy a decent pale ale as much as the next person, especially in the warmer months, I question why some brands feel the need to go there. Australia’s largest selling beer, XXXX Gold (yes, believe it or not) is the latest major label to dabble in this highly competitive section of the beer market.

Scared Ewe Brew Pale Ale

Thu, 2015-10-29 08:20 -- bob
Scared Ewe Brew Pale Ale from Beard and Brau

ONCE again the hidden little brewery, Beard and Brau, at Tamborine Village, just over Tamborine Mountain in the Gold Coast Hinterland has come up with another gem of a brew, Scared Ewe Brew Pale Ale.

Brewed especially to coincide with the Scare Crow Festival on Mt Tamborine, this deliciously fruity pale ale has the added bonus of being a proper mid- strength drop that doesn’t forsake flavour and body.

It has a light amber colour with a tight white head and a fruity aroma, which denotes a mix of berries and fruit.

Holgate Brewery Temptress Chocolate Porter

Mon, 2015-07-27 08:51 -- bob
Holgate Brewery Temptress Chocolate Porter

YOU could be forgiven for thinking that pale ales are taking over the beer world.

However, variety being the spice of life or in this case, the challenge in the beer section of your local bottle, I must confess to being very to black/dark beers.

With this in mind and being in the cooler months, the Holgate Brewery in Victoria had me straight away with their Temptress chocolate porter.

Stones Ginger Beer

Sat, 2015-05-02 08:07 -- bob
Stones Ginger Beer

SINCE this is a beer review column, I am not stepping that far outside the box when reviewing ginger beer am I?

After all, it is a type of beer is it not and whether you like it or not, it is a growing section in a lot of liquor outlets.

As a self-confessed fan of Stone's Green Ginger Wine (yes that's right), It had yet to try their ginger beer so looking for a change I thought why not?

The Mash Collective Heart Breaker

Wed, 2015-03-04 23:40 -- bob
Heart Breaker from The Mash Collective

FROM an eclectic group of people, known as The Mash Collective, comes an intriguing ale called Heart Breaker.

The Mash Collective have an affiliation with Stone & Wood brewing though their beers seem to be far more experimental than for mainstream production.

Heart Breaker is a limited release red ale, full of body and flavour and definitely worth tracking down.

It is a plum red, slightly cloudy in appearance with a very tight white head and an aroma which leaves you pondering just what’s in the brew.

Kronenbourg 1664 Blanc

Sat, 2015-02-14 06:57 -- bob
Kronenbourg 1664 Blanc

IT PROVED to be a case of mistaken identity when I grabbed a six pack of Kronenbourg 1664 at my local, I thought I was getting some of the premium French lager I was familiar with.

I should have read the label more closely because what I had picked up was the 1664 Blanc – a wheat beer with a difference. For a start, this wasn't my idea of a wheat beer. It has a citrus nose and if there is any suggestion of wheat, it is hard to find.

Pouring out of its unique blue bottle, 1664 Blanc has a clean, clear golden appearance and a solid white head.

Golden Paw Ale

Fri, 2015-01-09 06:17 -- bob
Golden Paw Ale

THERE wouldn't be too many brewers who would like their beer described as "common", but Beard and Brau brewer Chris Hemming is proud to have that tag associated with his Golden Paw Ale.

The label might say pale ale, but to be completely accurate, Hemming said the brew was more in keeping with Californian Common Ale, and there’s nothing common about it.

If you are expecting American pale ale, with abundant floral bouquet and very happy flavours, you might be disappointed.

This is a unique style of beer - a bit of a hybrid.

Little Pigs Lager

Sat, 2014-12-27 11:56 -- bob
Little Pigs Lager

THE Pickled Pig Brewery at Tweed Heads South continues to serve up surprises and Little Pigs Lager is one of their latest offerings.

This lager has plenty of body, a tight white head with a balanced hop aroma.

It has a very slight cloudiness, which adds to the flavour.

It comes across the palate as a very smooth, full-flavoured lager with a solid hop blend, which leaves a good bitterness in the aftertaste.

Pages

Publocation on Twitter

Publocation on Facebook